The Chemical Garden Trilogy

The Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano. When I read Wither, my expectations for the book were nothing. I just wanted to read a book and I picked it up and started reading. The thing about Wither was that I loved it, I cherished the first book.  I was a huge supporter of Team Linden. I loved Rhine and I loved how smart she was. She was careful, observant and technical. Look at the cover, the cover is so pretty, you just can’t not want to hold it. I really liked how fast pace it was, cleverly put through words and storyline, it was intriguing.

Then came the second book and I was left like whattt!! Not in a good way. I didn’t like the second book- Fever, until midway and I was really disappointed with the series progression. I didn’t like anything, I didn’t even like the cover. I just can’t talk about it.

I thought that when I would read Sever things would get better and I hoped for them to get better. Unfortunately, when I finished reading the third book I wasn’t satisfied with anything, I had forgotten whatever I felt reading Wither and I didn’t know what to do. So I just picked another book to read. Sever was much more bearable than Fever but still I wasn’t satisfied. Have you seen the cover of Wither and Seeds of Wither, they are beautiful but this series was a huge disappointment overall. I believe in her writing skills but the ending to this trilogy was bizarre. I would have adored Wither if it were a stand alone; I would have been fine with a melodramatic ending. I can reread Wither but Fever and Sever just leave me feeling weird. I believe other people might love the trilogy the way I loved the first book but I just can’t. :’(.

I am  currently reading Lauren DeStefano another series The Internment Chronicles.

Leave a Reply

